Frequently Requested Information
Contact Us
This form does not yet contain any fields.


    UTP’s Executive Board oversees the implementation of all UTP policies from the Representative Council. Board members serve on numerous committees within UTP. The UTP Executive Board is composed of nine members, five of whom are elected from geographically drawn grade level areas. The four Executive Officers bring the total to nine.

    UTP’s President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer represent the four executive officers of the organization.  Elected by UTP members, the officers report to UTP’s Executive Board. The President presides at all meetings of the Executive Board and the Representative Council and serves as the official representative of the Association. The Vice President performs all duties assigned to her by the President, and, in the absence of the President, performs the President’s duties. She is also the Social Activities Chairperson. The Secretary maintains the minutes of the governance bodies and is the Membership Engagement Chairperson. The Treasurer oversees the preparation of the budget and is the Budget and Finance Chairperson.

    : Alvin Nash, Math Teacher - UTP Office, 626 798-0928

    Vice President: Allison Steppes, Counselor - PHS 626 396-5880

    Secretary:  Manuel Carcido, History Teacher - PHS, 626 396-5880 x84431

    Treasurer: Stephanie Cosey, Special Education Teacher - Education Center, 626-396-3600


    Executive Officers (2019-2022)

    President-Elect: Allison Steppes, Counselor

    Vice President-Elect: Alvin Nash, Math Teacher

    Secretary-Elect: Stephanie Cosey, Special Education Teacher

    Treasurer-Elect: Manuel Carcido, History Teacher


    Area 1 Director: Cassandra Williams Brown, Child Development Site Supervisor - Longfellow CC (2017-2021), 626 396-5947

    (sites: Altadena, Burbank EEC, Eliot, Focus Point Academy, Longfellow CC, Longfellow ES, Madison, Webster)

    meetings: 1st Thursdays 4:00 p.m. 

    Area 2 Director: Laurel Ware, Special Education Teacher - Roosevelt (2018-2020), 626-396-5770

    (sites: Cleveland, Franklin, Jackson, Roosevelt, Washington CC, Washington ES, Washington MS)

    meetings: 1st Mondays 4:00 p.m.

    Area 3 Director: Martha Tovar, Middle School Teacher - McKinley (2017-2021), 626-396-5630

    (sites: Education Center, Hamilton, Jefferson CC, Jefferson ES, McKinley, San Rafael, Nurses, Psychologists)

    meetings: 1st Wednesdays 4:00 p.m. 

    Area 4 Director: Lorna Washington, Child Development Site Supervisor - Willard CC (2018-2020), 626-396-5946

    (sites: Coombs, Don Benito, Field, Sierra Madre ES, Sierra Madre MS, Willard CC, Willard ES, Wilson) 

    meetings: 3rd Mondays 3:30 p.m. at the PHS Cafeteria

    Area 5 Director: Jonathan Gardner, Science Teacher - PHS (2018-2020), 626-396-5880

    (sites: Blair, Center for Independent Study, Marshall, Muir, Pasadena, Rose City)

    meetings: 3rd Mondays 4:00 p.m. 



    • Budget & Finance - Stephanie Cosey (Special Education Teacher - Education Center)
    • Bargaining - Bethel Lira (History Teacher - Eliot)
    • Communications - to be appointed
    • Community Engagement - to be appointed
    • Contract Management - Karen Kobey (Math Teacher - Washington MS)
    • Elections - Lita Haido-Mayer (Elementary Teacher - Altadena)
    • Human Rights - Laurel Ware (Special Education Teacher - Roosevelt)
    • Instruction & Professional Development - Allison Steppes (Counselor - PHS)
    • Membership Engagement  -  Manuel Carcido (History Teacher - PHS)
    • Organizing - Martha Tovar (English/History Teacher - McKinley)
    • Political Action - Manuel Carcido (History Teacher - PHS)
    • Social Activities - Allison Steppes (Counselor - PHS)
    • Special Education - Stephanie Cosey (Special Education Teacher - Education Center)